

North Adelaide Football Club Hall of Fame

The NAFC is happy to officially announce, after an exhaustive selection process, that 20 Inaugural Inductees have been selected to an NAFC Hall of Fame. What a great opportunity to recognise the past greats of our Club, and formally celebrate their achievements together at an NAFC Hall of Fame dinner planned for Saturday 7 November at The Arkaba.

The process was a tough one! In the middle of 2013, the NAFC Board established a Hall of Fame selection committee comprising John Blunden, John Condon, Barry Dolman, Malcolm Ellis, John Mitchell, David O'Hara, Barrie Robran, Gordon Schwartz, Ray Titus and Ray Trenorden. This committee was given the task of selecting 20 candidates for inaugural induction to an NAFC Hall of Fame.

The committee met on 4 occasions and much work was done between meetings to accomplish this goal. Given the length of the Clubs history, a major concern of committee members was to ensure that no worthy candidate was missed in this process. This approach had the rather unfortunate consequence of producing a very long list of potential candidates and caused many agonising moments reducing the list to a final 20. In fact at one stage, the committee recommended to the Board that the number of inaugural candidates should be increased to 26 to avoid having to reduce the list further!

Notwithstanding, a final selection of 20 most worthy candidates was made and subsequently approved by the Board. Despite all of the difficulties, it was interesting at the end to hear committee members describe the process as being a lot of fun!

Special thanks must go to Barry Dolman who chaired the selection committee, but more importantly, has been one of the driving forces behind ensuring we honour our past champions who have given great service to our Club both on and off the field.

Bookings can be made for this Gala Night by calling 8344-8733 or at reception during business hours.